Kong: Skull Island Review (2017)

Director: Jordan Vogt-Roberts

Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L. Jackson, Brie Larson, John C. Reilly

Rating: PG-13

Plot:

Bill Randa (John Goodman) is in charge of leading a team of scientists to chart the only uncharted island left, Skull Island. To his knowledge, he is the only one that knows that is actually there: monsters. With the help of his scientists and a group of soldiers led by Preston Packard (Samuel L. Jackson) who have recently been dismissed from war torn Vietnam. When they infiltrate the island, they find what is hidden among the island of monster, Kong a twenty-five-foot gorilla. One they realize how dangerous this island is the group must act quickly to save themselves and get off the island.

What The Film Did Well:

The best thing about Kong: Skull Island it the expansion of the mythology of King Kong. In every rendition of the King Kong story its sole focus is just on Kong, but no other creatures on Skull Island. This movie focuses a lot on the creatures and other inhabitants of Skull Island, which I loved. It helped expand on the relationship of Kong and all the other creatures he shares this home with. By expanding the mythology, it also helps with the explanation of what drives Kong and why he does what he does in the other Kong inspired movies.

The soundtrack in this movie is quite phenomenal. The soundtrack that they use in the movie and the trailer of Kong: Skull Island helps drive them and is reflective of the time period in which the movie takes place. All the song selections in this movie are hits from the 1960s and 70s. The choice of music in this movie help give and genuine and authentic feel to this movie. This soundtrack mixed with a quality score from Henry Jackman (Captain America: Winter Soldier) helps make this a movie worth watching and continuously helps progress the movie along.

The performances of John C. Reilly and Shea Whigham were the two the stood out the most for me. With Reilly, who plays Hank Marlow, I had big concerns when I saw that he was going to be in this movie. Reilly tends to be a more comedic actor and I thought his comedy roots would diminish the movie, but he was the most fleshed out character and most interesting human character in the entire movie. Whigham didn’t blow anyone away with his performance and a lot may wonder why his performance stood out to me, but there is a reason I enjoyed his character. Whigham plays the character of Cole and there were a few times he had these little catchphrases that for some reason I enjoyed. He also had this ‘I don’t give a fuck about anything’ attitude that I thought was played well. All in all, it was the simplicity to his character that I liked the most.

Image via Warner Bros. Entertainment

What The Film Didn’t Do Well:

The point in this movie where it falters the most is the lack of character development and misuse of such a star filled cast. Earlier I mentioned how I liked the expansion of the mythology and how they focused mostly on creatures, but there were so many great actors and actresses in this movie for them to not have some sort of character development. You had two of the best actors of their respective generations in Samuel L. Jackson and John Goodman and somehow, I did not care a lick about who they were or what would happen to them. You have one of the best, if not the best young actress in Brie Larson and her character felt like a throw in. Then you have some of the better up and coming actors in Corey Hawkins and Jason Mitchell who were just under used. I just don’t see how you have so much great talent in one movie, but it comes off as they weren’t developed or used in the entire movie.

Most of us know by now, this movie along with the new (also not great) Godzilla are set up to have their own monster movie where they square off. If you didn’t know that, well now you know! Now, the reason I bring this up is because the last fight scene between Kong and one of the creatures was just too similar to Godzilla’s last fight scene against Mothra (I don’t know if that’s its name and can’t find it, if you know drop it in the comments!). I would have much rather seen Kong fight some more dinosaurs like he does in all the other King Kong stories. Although, I liked the new monsters Kong has to fight, the end battle seemed a little excessive and too close to what happened in Godzilla.

Image via Warner Bros. Entertainment

Final Thoughts

I was severely disappointed with this movie. Going into 2017, Kong: Skull Island was one of my most anticipated movies of the entire year. The poster alone got me excited for this movie. Then when I left the movies I was asking myself if it was even good. I was trying to convince myself that it was good and if you have to do that at the end of a movie, it probably wasn’t all that great. Because of all this, Kong: Skull Island gets at 7.3/10. I’m mad that I was so disappointed with this movie because King Kong is one of my favorite creatures and 2005s King Kong remains one of my favorite movies and is a big reason why I had such high hopes for this version.

Kong: Skull Island

Image via Warner Bros. Entertainment

What do you think? Did you see Kong: Skull Island? Is, so comment your thoughts below! What other movies do you want to see a review of? Remember to subscribe to get updates on new posts!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

